Mad as a Hatter!

So.. I finish my costumes! It has been the craziest 4 weeks almost working every night, no sleep but lots of love and passion making these amazing outfits… I wish I could have taken more pictures but some days I was just working non-stop until 4 am (and I have to go to work next day) and I just couldn’t find time to change the camera and then take pictures but I managed to take some at least.

My amazing boyfriend built me an awesome inspirational board with a crazy frame so I could put my drawing, pictures and samples of my fabrics so I could see them and inspire me all the time!

Image
the frame was built by my amazing boyfriend! always encouraging me!

There is so much detail on these costumes is crazy… I really went Mad! lol..

Image
There is more that 150 squares cut and sewn on both vest. I pinned them first on the vests to place them and then sewn them all before making the vests!

for the jackets I worked the patterns and the sewing as if the were real garments I tried not to skip any step but of course I might have miss some (didn’t have time for the lining :() but i fused, overlocked for finishing, understiched … name it..

Image
The piles of pieces for the jackets, the vests, the skirt and the pant ready to be sewn!

and of course the HAT…. I will post the making of the hat separately, is worth to look every single step… I was an amazing experience, the were tears, night of non sleep, running to stores because I missed a button or a thread, but there was just so much love and passion and happiness every time I was seen a garment finish I don’t care anything else!

After everything was done, of course we needed the Make-up! and I also made that! We got the eyes, my boyfriend made his eyebrows, we fixed the wigs, he dye the orange sock (believe or not we could not kind a knee high orange sock on halloween season.. so he dye them!) and also i would like to mention that he spent a whole night PAINTING THE DOTS on the bowties…he is amazing!

So here is a look of the final work!

Image

I will post more pictures soon!

2 thoughts on “Mad as a Hatter!

Leave a Reply

