Iracebeth The Red Queen Cosplay – Montreal Comic Con 2016

This year’s costume challenge for the Montreal Comic Con was Iracebeth the Red Queen Armour form Alice through the Looking Glass. I chose this version of the Red Queen because it was very different from the original design on Alice in Wonderland. It’s so elaborated and so detail, something I like as a challenge! And once again, Colleen Atwood made it. She is honestly one of my biggest inspirations and one of the most amazing designers out there. Her designs are so magical, so detailed, so perfect!!!!

Alice-Through-the-Looking-Glass-poster-Red-Queen

The Red Queen from Alice Through the Looking Glass – 2016

I actually got the chance to finally make one of my favorite characters from this Alice in Wonderland film version and also got the chance to go with my amazing boyfriend as a couple (off course he is using his Mad Hatter, with some new items: Hat and bowtie that I will show you on a post soon!) and it was such an amazing experience.

I got to work with new things like the magical WORBLA, create a crazy beautiful wig, try bald caps, make shoes, and sew lots and lots of ribbons among other things…

So here is a quick recap of this amazing adventure: First thing I did was to research anything I could find about this beautiful and empowering costume. By the time I decided to make this costume they were not too many images available online but fortunately those few were in HD! so I got the chance to see all the details up close =)

Isn’t she amazing? Helena Bonham Carter is so perfect in this character!

The Red Queen (Helena Bonham Carter) in Disney's  Alice Through the Looking Glass

Iracebeth The Red Queen (Helena Bonham Carter) in Disney’s Alice Through the Looking Glass, 2016

Once I studied the pictures I broke down the costume into the following parts:

  1. Corset Armour
  2. Blouse
  3. Leggings
  4. Bloomers
  5. Train
  6. Boots
  7. Wig
  8. Scepter
sketches-red-queen

My sketches of the breakdown of the costume, this really helped me to understand each part and to think how I was going to make it.

Since this costume have so many pieces I decide to write different posts to split the whole process and share it with you. I will tell you how I made the shoes, the wig and the entire costume!

For now, I would like to share a few shots of the Complete costume during the comic Con in Montreal this year, I hope you like it and hope to hear from all of you!

Red queenYves Bériault

Photo by Yves Beriault at the Montreal Comic Con 2016

 

IMG_2778

Me and my Boyfriend at the Montreal Comic Con 2016, I love this guy with all my heart! Without him, this madness could not have happened!

KLS_7599

Photo by Eric Denis Simard from K-Liss photography at the Montreal Comic Con 2016

IMG_2808-3.jpg

Photo by Gabrielle Kellock at the Montreal Comic Con 2016

IMG_4755

IMG_4757

IMG_4759

IMG_2803-2

Photo by Gabrielle Kellock at the Montreal comic con 2016

This is all for now guys! Hope you enjoy it and I’ll see you next time!

Check out my post on how I made the Boots of this crazy costume!!!!

 

XOXO

signature-Eri

13 thoughts on “Iracebeth The Red Queen Cosplay – Montreal Comic Con 2016

  1. Sandra Moore says:

    Hi. I am new to cosplay and for some strange reason I decided to start off with this one… Was thinking big… Lol. I know you said you were going to post on how you made the whole thing, but I am curious on how you did the thorny heart for the chest. I was trying to think of the best way for that and so far I came up with string. How did you do that? And your costume is perfect. Love it… Along with the one from The book of life. Beautiful

  2. Ashley says:

    Will you be doing a post on the wig or did I miss it? I’m doing a 2010 inspired Iracebeth inspired cosplay and your wig (and everything else) is perfection!!!

    • Erika Parra says:

      Hi Beatriz, thank you for your message. Unfortunately the costume is not for rent. Is a large costume with too many pieces and the handling is complicated but thank you again! ❤️

Leave a Reply

